Messines sadly failed on the verge of the Champions League

Metz failed in the semi-finals against title holder Kristiansad (33-27).

Metz’s handball players were eliminated (33-27) both in the Champions League semi-final by European champion Kristiansand in Budapest. The Norwegians will face Hungarian handballers Györ, five-time European champions, who qualify first at the expense of Esbjerg (32-27), on Sunday.

Messines had a difficult start to the encounter, passing under the Norwegian compressor wheel for twenty minutes, under the blows of the Czech left -back Marketa Jerabkova. But the entry into the game in the goals of young Mélanie Halter (19 years old) in place of Ivana Kapitanovic relaunched the Dragonnes. While Kristiansand had a +6 ball with Nora Mork (13-8), Halter signed his first stop, and Messines recovered to score, then took the advantage of a goal at the break thanks to Laura Kanor (15-14).

Katrine Lunde, caretaker of the temple

On the return of the dressers, the Emmanuel Mayonnade players returned with the same intentions, aiming for a goal during the first five minutes. But in the cage of Kristiansand, Katrine Lunde closed the boutique (seize the arrests), while the Norwegians have again found solutions to attack, the surprise effect of Mélanie Halter being past. The end of the match was tough for Kristiansand, who dilapidated part of his seven-goal lead (28-21) to the heart of the final ten minutes. Metz came back with four goals (29-25) seven minutes into the final, but Jerabkova (twelve goals in total in the encounter) led his team to the final, much like the performance of Henny Reistad who had Kristiansand to title.

The Messines will try to move on to the podium against Esbjerg on Sunday, which they did not have a chance to do in 2019 against Kristiansand, after a one -half defeat against the Russians from Rostov. For their part, Nora Mork’s teammates will challenge Györ, who will once again be supported by more than 15,000 spectators at Budapest’s Dome. Mork will win a sixth continental crown, after already winning the C1 with Larvik (2011), Györ (2017, 2018 and 2019) and Kristiansand (2021).


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.